• Call for applications issued

    The Call for applications for entry into the Malta Foundation Programme starting July 2022 has been published. Full details may be found here.


    [Read More]

  • Recruitment FP 2022

    The Call for applications for the Malta Foundation Programme starting July 2022 will be published very soon. Please follow this website very closely for updates.


    [Read More]

  • Recruitment FP 2021-UPDATE 11/10/20

    Details on the expected Situational Clinical Judgement Assessment are now provided. Please visit the Interview page here for further details. 


    [Read More]

  • Call for applications issued

    The Call for applications for the position of Foundation Doctor in the Malta Foundation Programme starting July 2021 has been published and the full Call can be found ...

    [Read More]

Foundation School Board

Terms of Reference and Members

Purpose of Board

The Board exists to oversee and set the overall strategy for the Malta Foundation School in line with national standards set by the Medical Council Malta (MCM).

Key Objectives

  • To advise on the strategic direction for the Malta Foundation School.
  • To ensure that the Malta Foundation School has appropriate processes and protocols in place in order to deliver foundation training, which meet the required standards of training, education, appraisal and assessment.
  • To facilitate the implementation of the Foundation Programme Malta
  • To determine the resources required for the implementation of the Foundation programme and co-ordinate their most effective ultilisation
  • To ensure that the proposals for training integrate well with the requirements of the health service
  • To ensure the effective integration of the foundation and the specialist training programmes by facilitating the partnership between the University, the Malta Foundation School and the Post-graduate Specialty Training Programmes.


Chairperson:  Dr Ray Galea (Head Postgraduate Medical Training Programme)

Secretary:  Ms Marlene Gauci (Co-ordinator Post-graduate Training Centre) 

Foundation School Directors:   Prof Alex Gatt  Dr John Paul Tabone

Foundation Year 2 doctor representative

Foundation Year 1 doctor representatives

Specialist Accreditation Committee representative: Prof Stephen Fava

Representative of Minister/Parliamentary Secretary

Elected representative of 5th year Medical Students

Dean of Medical School: Prof Godfrey Laferla

Lay person: Ms Mary Scicluna

In attendance: Foundation School Manager: Ms Ursula Gialanze Reitano

Meetings & Procedures

  • Two meetings will be held a year (January and June)
  • Members unable to attend should nominate a suitable representative.
Back to Top